THE IDEAS PROJECT — DAY 28

Chris Whitehouse
2 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Day 28. In my job hunting I’ve been having many career discovery conversations; chatting to people about their jobs and how they got where they are. I had a good chat yesterday, with a friend who is building a sports app, we got on to the topic of tech led vs customer led products, and how there should be a natural tension between the two. It appeared to me that her project was tech led, there is a technical problem that she feels she must solve. However, I challenged her about the customer needs; do customers really want this thing she is building? Has she done any market testing? I enjoyed this conversation, which got me thinking….

OLD IDEA 1: Product Development

OLD IDEA 2: Coaching

NEW IDEA: Product Development Coach; Is your product development process broken? Do want to be able to build products customers love? Then get in touch, and I’ll be happy to have a conversation.

Five Whys:

  1. Building products customers love is foundational to a successful company.
  2. However, many companies are terrible at building new propositions and products.
  3. They build form the inside out, either driven by technology or strategy, with little regard to customer wants and needs.
  4. As a Product Development Coach, I can help you solve this problem.
  5. I will not build the better products for you, but I will review how you build products currently and coach your organisation into being able to build better products, now and in the future.

Question: How good is your organisation at building products? Do sufficiently take into account customer needs and wants in the development process?

--

--